Studio Europa

Bronka Nowicka

Bronka Nowicka © Krzysztof Kalinowski

Bronka Nowicka (b. 1974 in Radomsko, Poland), is a fine artist with a PhD, who is also a poet and director. She works as a lecturer at the Leon Schiller National Higher School of Film, Television and Theatre in Łódź , of which she is also a graduate, and at the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow.
The inspiration and field of research for her creative work are the relationships between people and things, language and image, memory and language. For her book of prose poems Nakarmić Kamień (Feeding a Stone) she was awarded the Nike Literature Prize in 2016, Poland’s most important literary award. In Nakarmić Kamień, the order of the adult world is called into question from the perspective of a child. In it, Nowicka constructs her narrative from living fragments of text. She has also been published in magazines such as Znak (Poland), Poetry Wales and Modern Poetry in Translation (UK).
In the field of fine arts she uses new media, producing tomograms and tomovideos using a computer tomography scanner as a graphic and film tool.
Nowicka was one of the New Voices from Europe 2017. This is a project which promotes outstanding women poets in their respective countries as part of von Literary Europe Live.

Nakarmić Kamień, 2015
Nakarmić kamień. Obrazy rzeczy 2017

Exhibitions (selection):

Susanne Burmester Galerie, Deutschland 2015
Kunstnernes Hus, Norway 2016
Trubarjeva Hiša Literature, Slowenia 2017
Gavella Drama Theatre, Croatia 2017


Nike Literary Award 2016
Złoty Środek Poezji Award (Golden Mean of Poetry) 2016

Sandeep Parmar

Sandeep Parmar © privat

Sandeep Parmar (b. in Nottingham, England) grew up in Southern California and now lives in England. Her book Reading Mina Loy's Autobiographies, published by Bloomsbury in 2013, was her 2008 doctoral thesis at University College, London. She also gained a Master of Arts in Creative Writing. She teaches 20th Century Literature and Creative Writing at the University of Liverpool. She is currently editing the Collected Poems of Nancy Cunard and writing a biography of Hope Mirrlees. Parmar’s poetry deals with the English tradition of the Modern, with its curiosity, its restlessness and formal inventiveness. Her work is an example of the reawakening interest of some younger British poets in techniques and approaches developed in the first half of the 20th Century. The surprising messages in her work appear with a power that feels slightly wonderful, moments appearing from the specific language of each poem, unasked, as though from nowhere.

Publications (Selection):
The Collected Poems of Hope Mirrlees, (ed.), Carcanet 2011
Reading Mina Loy's Autobiographies: Myth of the Modern Woman, Bloomsbury 2013
The Marble Orchard, Shearsman 2012
Eidolon, Shearsman 2015

Nathalie Ronvaux

Nathalie Ronvaux © Galbats Patrick

Nathalie Ronvaux, (b. 1974 in Luxembourg), is a poet and dramatist. Her collection of poems Vignes et louves, published in 2010, describes processes of self-discovery in powerful and surrealistic imagery combined with a minimist style. The collection received the Promotional Prize of the Servais Foundation for Luxembourg literature. Her stage play La vérité m’appartient was awarded the 2013 First Prize of the Concours littéraire national and staged in Luxembourg in 2016 by Charles Muller. As well as her literary prizes, she was chosen as Woman of the Year in 2015 by the Luxembourg newspaper Le Jeudi Ronvaux.
Nathalie Ronvaux was one of the 2017 New Voices from Europe. This is a project which promotes outstanding poets in their respective countries as part of von Literary Europe Live.

Vignes et Louves, Editions Phi2010
La liberté meurt chaque jour au bout d’une corde, Editions Phi2012
La vérité m’appartient, Hydre Éditions 2013
Vol de nuit à ciel ouvert, Editions Phi 2014 – with illustrations by Sandrine Ronvaux
Les Nuits Blanches, 2015 – with artist Bertrand Ney
Il n’y a rien … Il y a tout …, Éditions Au coin de la rue de l’Enfer  2016 – with drawings by Brandy
Subridere. Un aller simple, Hydre Éditions 2017

Nataša Sardžoska

Nataša Sardžoska © Irena Mila

Nataša Sardžoska

Nataša Sardžoska, (b. 1979 in Skopje, Macedonia), is a poet, author and translator. She gained her doctorate in Philosophy and Anthropology at the Eberhard Karls University in Tübingen, the Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris and the University of Bergamo. Sardžoska explores the inner layers of separation, acknowledgement, acceptance and freedom. In her poetry she lays bare inner pain, at the same time revealing spiritual freshness. In her performative readings she frequently encapsulates human existence in the dramatic structure of a chamber play.
She has been nominated twice for the Macedonian Miladinov Brothers Award of the Struga Poetry Evenings festival. She translates from Portuguese, French and Italian and has also published criticism in international magazines. She received a distinction from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Direction for Cultural Promotion for her translation of Collodi’s Pinocchio.
In 2008 she discovered Argentinean tango and has been passionately devoted to it and the promotion of tango culture ever since.

Publications (literature):
The blue room, 2002
Skin, 2013
He pulled me with invisible string, 2014
Living water, 2017

Publications (translations):
Collodi, Carlo, Pinocchio, Detska Radost, Skopje 2002, 2nd edition 2005
Pasolini Pier Paolo: Teorema, Dijalog, Skopje 2004
Tabucchi, Antonio: Donna di Porto Pim; Notturno Indiano; Il filo dell'orizzonte, Kultura, Skopje 2005
Gandini, Fabrizio: ‘European criminal law, criminal law of the European Community, criminal law of the European Union’. Review for criminal law studies and criminology, Skopje 2008
Carducci, Giosue: Poesie, Mikena, Bitola 2009
Guillherme-Moreira, Pedro: A manhã do mundo, Antolog, Skopje 2013
Tavares, Gonçalo: Jerusalem, Blesok: Skopje 2013