ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival awards prizewinners

On Sunday, three awards worth a total of 9000 €, the award for the best film adaption of the festival poem and an audience award were presented at the ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival's awards ceremony. The festival of the international poetry film took place from 3 to 6 November at Haus für Poesie and Kino in der Kulturbrauerei.

An international jury comprising Dagmara Kraus (poet, Germany), Ebele Okoye (multidisciplinary artist and animation filmmaker, Nigeria/Germany) and Christine Franz (director and writer, Germany) awarded the three prizes of 3000 € each. 25 poetry films produced worldwide competed for the titles.

The 2022 ZEBRA Prize for the Best International Poetry Film (donated by the Haus für Poesie) went to BLACK. BRITISH. MUSLIM. OTHER by the Saudi-British filmmaker Enas Saeed for the film version of her poem with the same title. 

The Goethe Film AwardSustainable Living (donated by the Goethe-Institut) was won by FATHERS’ LAND (orig. TERRA DEI PADRI) by Francesco Di Gioia (Italy) for the film interpretation of poems by Fadil Hasin Ash-Shalmani

The 2022 Ritter Sport Film Award (donated by Alfred Ritter GmbH & Co. KG) went to IMAGININGS by Anja Hiddinga (Netherlands) for her film interpretation of Walls and Dreams by KITCHEN’s LIGHT, a group of poets, that performs in sign language.

Two special mentions were awarded by the jury.

THE MIRROR NEURON by Tommy Becker (USA), based on his poems 4,000 Miles and Before the Sun Turns

CYCLE (orig. ZYKLUS) by Eva Matz and Jonas Schmieta (Germany), based on a poem with the same title by Matz. 

The 2022 ZEBRino Award for the Best Poetry Film for children, youth and young adults was awarded by an audience jury aged 8 to 13 from the Max-Beckmann-Oberschule Berlin to Héloïse Le Bail (France) for the film THE WOLF AND THE DOG (orig. LE LOUP ET LE CHIEN). It is based on the poem with the same title by Jean de La Fontaine.

The three best film adaptions of the festival poem The Haircut (orig. Anderkatt) by Georg Leß were provided by Beate Gördes (Germany), Patricia Delso Lucas (Belgium) & Johanna Wagner (Sweden) and Marc Neys (Belgium). Piu Gomes (Brasil) was given a special mention for his contribution.